“I Am” Boards

 

A little while ago, I ran across a very interesting project on Pinterest that would be excellent for teachers to do at the beginning of the school year to help students get to know each other. The project is called “I Am Boards.”

Although the project wasn’t used in a school setting, I could easily see this being used in any classroom. For my class, I would give each student a small canvas, where they would include a portrait of themselves. I would then have them collage the background in any way that would describe who they are. They could fill it with words that describe them, pictures of their interests, or maybe draw the background as a place that is significant to them. When everyone is done, I would have them present their board to the class and explain to everyone what their board says about them.

This would be a great beginning-of-the-year project for an art class. It’s a very fun way for everyone to introduce themselves to the class and for everyone to get to know each other. It is a wonderful way to set the tone of the classroom for the year as well!

Here is the link to the idea and some examples of “I Am Boards” from the site:

A New Adventure….”Little Brave Girls”

I-Am-Project-for-Girls-I-am-Amazing

I-Am-Project-for-Girls-I-am-just-right-just-the-way-I-am

I-Am-Project-for-Girls-I-am-talented

Leave a Reply

